RSS Feed

Product Crush of the Day (ok, Lifetime): Queen Helene’s Mint Julep Masque

Mint Julep Masque

Mint Julep Masque

What it does:  Queen Helene’s Original Mint Julep Masque was originally a home remedy designed by a dermatologist to help dry up zits, remove blackheads and shrink pores.  It also provides a refreshing cooling feeling to the face (and smells fantastic) that can help ease tension lines in the face and neck.

Why I love it:  This incredibly cheap product works wonders on my zits.  If its just starting, it brings the zit to a head (so I can be a bad girl and pop it);  if its an existing pimple, it helps dry it out.  And it totally shrinks the enlarged pores around my nose (as does Aquaphor, but that’s another post..) and relaxes my forehead wrinkles.  I wish I could sleep in it, but its bright green and would totally kill my sheets.  Sometimes, I use it as a spot treatment and leave it on all day or evening while I’m around the house.  Its gentle enough that it dries out the acne without drying out the rest of my skin, although, for the record, I don’t have very sensitive skin.  I would spot test it first if you have sensitive skin.

Where you can find it:  Any drugstore, usually on the bottom shelf.  It costs about $3 for 8 oz.– and you can even find bottles with 33% more free (about 11 oz.).  Its a steal!

Leave a Reply

